Stephen King – An author everybody knows.

Stephen King

Stephen King is a name that even the most illiterate person knows. He has sold more than 350 million copies of his book and collaborated into turning most of these into movies and television shows. There is a reason people call him ‘The King of Horror.’

His first novel to be published was in 1974 called Carrie. Carrie is still to this day a huge success. The main character in this novel is a young, mistreated high school girl named Carrie, she develops telekenetic abilities and takes revenge on everyone that ever abused her. I’m sure something that many people would have liked to have done at one stage of their lives or another. Many of you have proabably seen and heard all this before, so I am going to tell you some interesting things about Stephen King that you might not know.

Stephen King is in a rock band called ‘Rock Bottom Remainders’ along with other writers like Matt Groening, Ridley Pearson and Dave Barry. Their motto is “We play music as well as Metallica writes novels.”

In the late 70’s or early 80’s, Stephen King wrote a series of novels under a pseudonym, Richard Bachman, this was an experiment to see if he could duplicate his own success again. He did.  Bachman was later exposed as King’s pseudonym. This led to a funny press release announcing the death of Bachman from ‘cancer of the pseudonym’. In 2007, King published an old manuscript of Bachman’s, Blaze, and announced that all proceeds would go the charity for ‘cancer of the pseudonym’, in memory of Richard.

Stephen King in 1999 was hit by a van not far from his house. He suffered from many injuries including a broken leg in 9 different places, a collapsed lung, a broken hip and a big gash to the head. After all this happened and he was better, he bought the van and attacked it with a baseball bat before sending it to a junkyard. You may have seen something similar in the television series Kingdom Hospital – also collaborated on by Stephen King.

He saw a friend get hit and killed by a train when he was a child.

Writing runs in the family for the Kings.

I hope you enjoyed learning something new from this post. If you haven’t already read anything by Stephen King, now is the time.

Image

28 thoughts on “Stephen King – An author everybody knows.

Add yours

  1. I also adore Stephen King. I do also Kristen and you about some of his books can be a hit and miss. I have all of the books that I like by him on my Kindle. There are several that I have enjoyed of his and also several that I didn’t really care for. Notable, the Dark Tower series. Sure, they were good, but just didn’t care for them. We, my fiancee and I, just saw Kingdom Hospital here for the first time about a month ago. We loved it. I do remember when Stephen King was hit. I was in high school. I graduated in 2001. It truly was a very dark, dark day for me because I did not know if one of my favorite authors was going to live or die. I thought my world was going to end. But by the grace of our Lord, he pulled through and lived to write another day. What are your thoughts on the ending of the The Mist movie compared to book ending? My jaw just dropped at the movie ending and I cried at the father’s haste. And the book was completely different, with an adventurous, apocalyptic ending. And the Storm of the Century and Andre Linoge “Just give me what I want and I will go away”- a great line lol. He is definitely one of my favorites. I don’t tend to deviate from my favorite authors. Unless I hear of a good one. My favorite authors are Anne Rice, Dean Koontz, Robin Cook, Beverly Lewis, and Wanda Brunstetter. Yes, all the way at the other end of the spectrum to Amish Christian fiction lol. Anyways, thank you for liking my blog. I have had a look-see at your lovely blog and it deserves a liking and following for sure. Just love talking about books and authors. Thank you, dear! Please be aware that I talk about just about anything and everything and I do ramble, as you can see here lol 😀 xo

    1. I’m glad to meet another Stephen King fan. Thanks for the comment Serenity. I haven’t tried to read the dark tower series yet, I wanted to have them all before I started the first book. I loved Kingdom Hospital, it was so weird. You weren’t rambling at all!

      1. I too, amy joyful I have met another Stephen King fan as well. King Hospital was uber weird, but the story was kool. We also like Jodelle Ferland and try to keep up with her work. She is a young actress that has her head on her shoulders at the moment and we hope she will during her 20s, unlike others. The Dark Towers is a fantasy series and I have a hard time wrapping my head around fantasy, which is probably why I had a hard time getting into it. If you have the Kindle app on a tablet or your PC, you can get books for half the price then actually buying the books, so you can start to acquire the books, or you can download them for free from places like kickasstorrents.com or thepiratebay.org through the Vuze player and if they come in through PDF, you can easily convert them to .mobi for free online somewhere. Just a thought. I do that with 98% of my books…it is just too expensive to buy books full price off the rack anymore. If you want more information, you can drop me a line. Cheers! And have a lovely day, dear. xo

  2. He wrote Running Man in just two days, that’s what impresses me!
    i haven’t read any of his books in years and yet i still remember the twists and turns of The Long Walk among others.

  3. I am a big fan of Stephen King myself; however, to be honest, my favorite book of his that I have read has to be On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft. As an aspiring writer, his memoir is both very informative and truly inspiring.

  4. I’m a HUGE Stephen King fan. 🙂 I’ve been reading his books since I was probably 11 or 12. A Memoir of the Craft is an excellent book but my two favorites are The Stand and Bag of Bones.

      1. I’ve never even heard of The Eyes of the Dragon. I’m going to have to check that out!

  5. Hey bellnight, thanks for liking my blog. Despite being in an MFA in creative writing program, I love Stephen King, both his story and his works. I think this kind of frustrates all those “literary types” I inevitably hobnob with in my program. I knew most of his story, but liked hearing about the smashing the van incident. I just finished reading The Shining, and loved it. Despite its leap into fiction, he said much of it paralleled his drinking years. If you get a chance, check out one of his latest works, 11/22/63, about the Kennedy assassination, and if you could go back in time and change that event, how would that effect future events?

  6. I’m about 200 pages into The Gunslinger which is the first book by King that I have tackled and I am really enjoying it, i do have the rest of the series ready to be read though 🙂
    I want to get his memoir as well but il probably buy the audiobook which King himself narrates 🙂

    1. Sorry for the late reply! I don’t have the whole collection of the dark tower yet, but i’m working on it.
      Wow! That is such a great idea! I have read his memoir on writing, but the audio book would be sooo much better! My next goal is going to be to get that! 🙂

  7. What I always find interesting about “The Bachman Books” is that, from my understanding, they were all stories he had perviously written and then just published under the Bachman name. Thinner was the first book he sat down to write “as Bachman” and that is the one that caused him to be found out.

    I enjoyed your post about King and I might have to check out some of your others to discover more authors I might be interested in.

    1. Sorry for the late reply! Yes it is interesting that he decided to write under the name Bachman!
      Thank you! Hopefully there will be some other authors that have peaked your interest as well!

    1. Sorry for the late reply! Yes I have found that with some of his newer books too! Maybe because his style is slightly changing and we are used to his old way of writing. I don’t know, but he is still a fantastic writer! Thank you!

  8. A vast collection of his books is gracing my living room, including a Bachman/King double feature “Regulators/Desperation” and “The Dark Tower” (albeit without the latest volume, “The Wind Through the Keyhole”).

    Yes, one can say I am a fan.

    1. My living room looks very much the same way! I have not read all the ‘Dark Tower’ series yet because I am waitng to collect all the books. I dislike having to wait until the next book comes out or I have money. It is great being a Stephen King fan, because he has written soooo much!

      1. Please excuse my late response: Where at the “Dark Tower” are you right now? (No matter where, though, you are in for a ride…!)

      2. For some reason I am having trouble sending a reply to your comment Venom. I will try again, hopefully with success this time! I started reading ‘The Gunslinger’ but lost the book during a move. I have a couple others in the series, but know it’s pointless reading them until I collect all of them or at least the first one. I recently read a stand alone book of his called ‘The Eyes of the Dragon’ which supposedly has a character in it from the Dark Tower series. Randall Flagg. I’m now just finishing up reading ‘TommyKnockers’ I’m really looking forward to when I finally do start trying to read the series again though.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

