Dean Koontz: A Brilliant but Odd Man.

Image

Dean Ray Koontz was born July 9th 1945. He was an only child. Star Quest was the first novel he wrote and was published in 1968. Dean Koontz is better known as the author that wrote the popular Odd Thomas books. The first Odd Thomas book is actually going to be made into a movie. The main genre that his books usually fall under is suspense thriller, but has been known to have some horror and mystery mixed in. If you are a big fan of Stephen King, it is more likely than not that you have heard of Dean Koontz. Here are some things that you may not know:

Dean Koontz refused for a long time to do a book tour. He also doesn’t like using the internet or e-mail because it distracts him from his writing.

He sent some of his work to playboy, but came to the conclusion that writing these types of magazines wasn’t what he wanted to do.

Some rumours on the Internet claim that he has borderline obsessive compulsive disorder. Whether this is true I can’t say.

Dean Koontz has had a lot of sad experiences with dogs throughout his life. He had a dog as a child called Tiny who almost strangled him to death in the backyard with a chain it was tied to. He was forced to give up the dog because of this. He also had a dog called Lucky once that had to be put down because it was constantly sick. Some of Dean’s books were inspired by a dog called Trixie that was very close to him. Trixie was a gift to Dean by the Canine Companions for Independence organization for all his charitable donations.

Dean Koontz had a job as park ranger. While working here he was robbed at gunpoint by two men.

Dean Kontz’s wife made a deal with him to support him for 5 years while he wrote books. I think all writers trying to make it would love to have a partner like that.

Some of my favourite books are by Dean Koontz. Books that I have loved are the whole Odd Thomas series and From the Corner of his Eye.

Image

7 thoughts on “Dean Koontz: A Brilliant but Odd Man.

Add yours

  1. Like I said in my comment under Stephen King, Dean Koontz is one of my favorite authors. My favorite by him is Watchers. Sometimes, I find his books hard to read for some reasons, but I always finish to the end even if I am unable to process the material. Great post!

    1. I think it depends on which book it is. I found ‘By the Light of the Moon’ kind of hard to get into, but others I found to be a breeze to read. Thanks for commenting!

      1. I just finished reading that myself – I really struggled with it because the pace felt kind of slow, and then everything kinda happened really quickly in the end! Generally I struggle with his overuse (at times) of adjectives, but same as Serenity I always finish reading it anyway and it always becomes gripping towards the end 🙂

  2. I love From the Corner of His Eye; it’s a book I’ll never forget. I’m a big fan of both Dean Koontz and Stephen King. But like Serenity above stated, I too sometime have trouble digesting Koontz’s books, and they are a little wordy at times.
    I have read that his wife, Gerda, supported them for 5 years so that Dean could concentrate on writing. In fact, I posted a blog a while back titled: “I Need a Gerda Koontz”. 🙂
    I enjoyed your post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

